Posted by: the4meterman | March 31, 2013

Annnnnnd I am back on the wagon.

The last comic book I purchase was finale of the Return of Bruce Wayne, sometimes in November 2010.  I made the decision the quit cold turkey because of many reasons.  It was getting expensive, the series that I was following were cancelled, if not were in the process of getting cancelled and the imminent reboot debacle of the DC universe (still angry about that by the way).  I was clean for two plus years, and by that I mean I barely even stepped inside a comic book store during that period.  I was kinda proud of myself.  Being all grown up and stuff.

But then fast forward to late 2012, when they announced that they are going to make a movie about Guardians of the Galaxy, hands down one of my all time favorite team of superheros, I know there’s gonna be trouble.  With the movie coming down the pipeline, OF COURSE the next sensible thing the executives at Marvel are going to do is to reboot the comic book series, which was cancelled back in early 2010.

They did, and I relapsed almost immediately.

GuardiansOfTheGalaxy_1_Cover

So when Wednesday rolled around, I drove my ass to my local comic book store and picked up a copy of this bad boy and see if this relaunch is worth the relapse.  I have to say, it was an overall great great start of a series.  Nothing ground breaking happened, just a set up and introduction to see the return of most of the members.

But with that said, there are some issues that I would like to point out, so spoilers ahead, duh.

1) I might have missed something while I was away from the comic book world, but I was turn off by the lack of explanations as to how the freak Star-lord is alive and well.  Having his father saying “i get updates on you… something about something in the cancerverse… and dragged yourself back from the dead” is kinda a slap in the face.  Or maybe they are saving that for a later arc. Hopefully.

2) Not liking how he father just shows up and trying to convince us that he existed all this time.

3) Why the freak is Tony Stark doing here.  I know you are just putting him in for marketing purposes.  Don’t lie.

4) What is up with his armor.  Looks hideous.

5) Everyone, including Gamora, whom used to goes into battle with a bikini/robe, is wearing Mass-Effect-esque armors.  Yet. Drax is still shirtless.

So that’s it.  I can’t wait til the next issue and see how this story is going to move forward.  I will keep you posted.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

